The real beginning

2015.2.23

The Plane Ride

What a disaster interesting experience. I desperately hoped I wouldn’t have to start my journey as a lone traveler right after checking in my luggage, but even though I’d never stepped foot in an airport before, the cold respectful airport employees decided I’d have to tough it out. After getting over the initial shock, the awe and wonder of studying abroad began. Even if they haven’t been out of America, most people I know have ridden a plane before, but not me! I still can’t get over how huge the airport is; I had to take a train-thing (..can you call that a train? haha) to my gate. Plus, there are so many people traveling all around the world, how cool is that?

It's like an expensive mall with plane rides LOL

It’s like an expensive mall with plane rides LOL

Never seen a plane up  close before. Can't believe I was in it!

Never seen a plane up close before. Can’t believe I was in it!

Weirdest thing happened when I was about to get on the plane though.. if anyone can explain to me what happened, PLEASE DO because I’d rather it not happen for my plane ride home. Besides the boarding pass printed out when I checked in my bags, I got another piece of paper printed when scanning my passport before getting on the plane. My boarding pass — had correct seat number (the one I chose when buying my ticket). The piece of paper printed after scanning my passport — incorrect seat number. Seriously, I’m already on edge because I just had to say goodbye and I’m getting on a plane and leaving the country for the FIRST time in my life.. and okay I’m an emotional person to say the least.. but I was so confused and I lost my composure on the plane LOL. Meaning, the tears… Hey, I wanted my window seat and I got randomly stuck in the middle row, what’s the deal, you know? Unfortunately I had to stay in this random seat >.<

On the bright side a flight attendant totally decided to mother me for the plane ride hehe. She really made me feel more comfortable though when she’d check up on me once in a while to see if I was alright during the plane ride and all. Taking the opportunity to pray once getting on the plane was interesting though. I really didn’t know what was going to happen. Not to be all pessimistic and crazy, but it could have crashed, you know?! I really had a sense that everything was going to be alright and knew this was only the start of my struggles for the semester.

That take off though.. SO COOL. I wish I got to look out the window when it happened like I planned. I’m pretty sure that was faster than the Millennium Force at Cedar Point haha. The 14 hour flight though.. SO NOT COOL. It was so long. Never ending. I watched so many movies I hadn’t seen before though [note: Maleficent was amazing]. I definitely can’t sleep on planes though *cries* Not because of the lights or the loud sounds, but it’s just so uncomfortable. No matter where I tried to lean my neck it wasn’t happening. I tried resting for a few hours, but totally gave up. The landing.. not cool for the girl with motion sickness haha. It was the only time on the flight I felt a little sick and the movement reminded me of an extended version of being on an elevator when you reach your floor.


The First Night

Thank the Lord my teaching assistant for Korean class, Susie, asked her friend, JiWon, to help me get from the airport to my goshiwon (고시원: similar to a single person dorm, but smaller). After a 14 hour plane ride and not really studying Korean since finals last semester, I would have been driving the struggle bus. We took a big airport bus to Sinchon (신촌: the part of Seoul I live in. Seoul is a huge city made up of districts, neighborhoods, and areas. We don’t have much like that in America, but the best example I can give is how we have counties, cities, and school districts? Yeah.. haha). JiWon was also a huge help because the owner and manager both weren’t there, so she had to call the owner so he could get the manager to the goshiwon. Of course, this whole encounter was in Korean. To say the least, I was just really tired and overwhelmed, but God really blessed me with JiWon that night.

HyunMin and his friend James also came to help make sure things would go smoothly for me to get into my room. HyunMin is a friend of mine who studied at MSU and was my language exchanged partner my freshman year. He’s super old, but he’s a great friend and is like an older brother here in Korea. Hence why I call him oppa (오빠: what a girl calls a guy who is older). James helped HyunMin find a goshiwon for me to live in while I’m in Korea. It’s right across the street from campus, specifically Severance Hospital (Yonsei University’s equivalent of UofM’s hospital), which is one of the best hospitals in Korea.

Left: JiWon and I! Right: The building I live in.

20150216_065617 20150217_145819

 

HyunMin and James took me to eat samgyupsal (삼겹살: korean BBQ, we grilled pork and pork skin). I’ve had it a few time in the US, but this was way better and cheaper (not that I had to pay hehehe #koreanculture)

20150216_094459

Did I mention it was raining the whole time? “Welcome to Korea” hahaha

20150217_003307

 

Hmm.. I wonder if this is all just too much reading for people to be interested haha. Still, hope you’re enjoying the tidbits into my life in Korea!

❤ Kate~

 

Leave a comment